March 28, 2023

ATP Masters 1000, which debuted as a series in 1990, features the best men’s tennis players at nine top tournaments on the ATP Tour calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 events earn 1,000 Pepperstone ATP Rankings points. 

Masters 1000 Reigning Champions

Taylor Fritz, Carlos Alcaraz, Pablo Carreno Busta, Borna Coric and Holger Rune joined the list of ATP Masters 1000 champions in 2022. Fritz kicked off proceedings by winning his hometown title at the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells by defeating Rafael Nadal, a winner of 36 Masters 1000 titles.

An 18-year-old Alcaraz clinched his first Masters 1000 title at the Miami Open presented by Itau, while fellow Spaniard Carreno Busta joined the elite club at the age of 31, in August at the National Bank Open presented by Rogers. Alcaraz backed up his Miami triumph with an impressive run in May at the Mutua Madrid Open, defeating Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Alexander Zverev in succession.

Coric continued the parade of first-time Masters 1000 champions, as he became the lowest-ranked titlist in the history of the Western & Southern Open, propelling him 123 spots to No. 29 in the Pepperstone ATP Rankings. Holger Rune, 19, capped off the 2022 Masters 1000 season by defeating five straight Top 10 players – including Djokovic in the final – en route to the Rolex Paris Masters title.

Masters 1000 Title Leaders

There have been 76 different champions crowned since the Masters 1000 series began in 1990. Only six players have won more than 10 Masters 1000 titles. With his victory at the 2021 Rolex Paris Masters, Novak Djokovic took sole possession of the ATP Masters 1000 titles record, breaking the record he previously shared with Rafael Nadal. He took his Masters 1000 haul to 38 by winning the 2022 Internazionali BNL d’Italia.

Masters 1000 Win Leaders

Rafael Nadal leads Roger Federer and Novak Djokovic in the battle among Masters 1000 match win leaders, with the Spaniard pulling ahead of the Swiss at the 2019 Rolex Paris Masters. Nadal first broke Federer’s long-held record in August 2019, with his 379th Masters 1000 victory at this elite level during the Coupe Rogers. Stan Wawrinka entered the Top 10 leaderboard after reaching the third round at the 2019 BNP Paribas Open, overtaking Tommy Haas (144-107 match record).

* numbers following 2022 Rolex Paris Masters

Masters 1000 Greatest Champions

Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments.

City Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (10) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Rafael Nadal (5) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

Masters 1000 Sweeps

The “Sunshine Double”, winning Indian Wells and Miami in the same season, has been achieved 12 different times since the series began in 1990, most recently by Roger Federer in 2017. The fall Masters 1000 sweep has been completed five times, twice by Novak Djokovic, while four players have won Canada and Cincinnati back-to-back. Rafael Nadal, the most recent player to accomplish the North American summer sweep, is also the only one to have captured all three clay Masters 1000 titles consecutively. 

ATP Masters 1000 Sunshine Double (Indian Wells, Miami)
2017: Roger Federer
2016: Novak Djokovic
2015: Novak Djokovic
2014: Novak Djokovic
2011: Novak Djokovic
2006: Roger Federer
2005: Roger Federer
2001: Andre Agassi
1998: Marcelo Rios
1994: Pete Sampras
1992: Michael Chang
1991: Jim Courier

ATP Masters 1000 Spring Sweep (Clay)
2010: Rafael Nadal (Monte-Carlo, Rome, Madrid)

ATP Masters 1000 Summer Sweep
2013: Rafael Nadal (Montreal, Cincinnati)
2003: Andy Roddick (Montreal, Cincinnati)
1998: Patrick Rafter (Toronto, Cincinnati)
1995: Andre Agassi (Montreal, Cincinnati)

ATP Masters 1000 Fall Sweep
2016: Andy Murray (Shanghai, Paris)
2015: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2013: Novak Djokovic (Shanghai, Paris)
2007: David Nalbandian (Madrid, Paris)
2004: Marat Safin (Madrid, Paris)

Big Four Dominance At Masters 1000

From 2008 Madrid through 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) combined to capture 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%). During that stretch, only six other players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati).

In comparison, in the 21 series events from 2017 Rome to 2019 Cincinnati, nine players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)
Fabio Fognini (2019 Monte-Carlo)
Daniil Medvedev (2019 Cincinnati)

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.