May 30, 2023

Australia decided to bat against England

There were two new captains at the toss for the second ODI in Sydney as Josh Hazlewood led Australia for the first time with Pat Cummins rested and Moeen Ali taking charge of England with Jos Buttler having the game off.

Hazlewood, who was rested for the first match of the series, became the 28th Australia men’s ODI captain just one match after Cummins became the 27th when he made a winning start to the series in Adelaide. Cummins has been left out as part of his Test preparations and is expected to return in Melbourne. Allrounder Cameron Green has also been released and returned to Perth ahead of the West Indies Test series with Josh Inglis added to the squad.

A rotation of the captaincy had been flagged when Cummins was named in the role and at the toss Hazlewood spoke of a “wider leadership group” who was able to step in when needed. There was no official vice-captain named before the series. He was given the role ahead of Alex Carey, who captained the ODI side against West Indies when Aaron Finch was injured last year, and Test vice-captain Steven Smith.

This is also the first time Moeen has captained England in an ODI having previously done the job in T20s. They have also made a number of changes with Sam Curran, Chris Woakes and Adil Rashid returning to the side. Chris Jordan, Luke Wood and Olly Stone sit out.

Australia 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Steve Smith, 4 Marnus Labuschagne, 5 Alex Carey (wk), 6 Mitchell Marsh, 7 Marcus Stoinis, 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlwood (capt)

England 1 Jason Roy, 2 Phil Salt, 3 Dawid Malan, 4 James Vince, 5 Sam Billings (wk), 6 Moeen Ali (capt), 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Sam Curran, 9 Liam Dawson, 10 David Willey, 11 Adil Rashid

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.