June 7, 2023

Toss Ireland opt to bowl vs Australia

Ireland are looking to cause another upset at the T20 World Cup and have chosen to chase against an under-pressure Australia side at the Gabba. “It’s obviously a big game for us and it’s always nice knowing what you have to do, particularly in that second innings. We are going to embrace the challenge,” Andy Balbirnie said.

Aaron Finch also wanted to bowl first on what he said looked like a good surface, but expects it to remain consistent for the duration of the match. On a dry surface, Australia made one change to the team that beat Sri Lanka. Ashton Agar, who was “stiff” according to Finch, has been replaced by Adam Zampa.Zampa was ill after testing positive for Covid-19 previously, but he – and Matthew Wade – have since returned negative test results.

Ireland are unchanged from the XI that beat England. Both teams suffered washouts in Melbourne on Friday, making this a crunch match in Group 1. Three teams are on three points, including both of these, and whoever wins this match will join New Zealand on five points and take a step towards the semi-finals. Asked if Australia’s approach to this game will be ultra-aggressive, Finch demurred. “You have to earn the right to be able to push net run rate,” he said, and referenced Australia’s 89-run loss to New Zealand as a reason to stay cautious.

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Aaron Finch (capt), 3 Mitchell Marsh, 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Tim David, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Pat Cummins, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Adam Zampa, 11 Josh Hazlewood.

Ireland: 1 Paul Stirling, 2 Andy Balbirnie (capt), 3 Lorcan Tucker (wk), 4 Harry Tector, 5 Curtis Campher, 6 George Dockrell, 7 Gareth Delany, 8 Mark Adair, 9 Fionn Hand, 10 Barry McCarthy, 11 Josh Little.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.