March 29, 2023

Toss South Africa chose to field vs Netherlands

David Miller returned from a back niggle to shore up South Africa’s middle order. This meant Tristan Stubbs had to miss out. South Africa also made another tactical change, with left-arm fingerspinner Keshav Maharaj replacing Tabraiz Shamsi, the left-arm wristspinner.
Netherlands fielded the same XI that beat Zimbabwe three days ago. In their XI is a certain Roelof van der Merwe, the allrounder who played for South Africa in the 2009 and 2010 editions of the competition.

Like South Africa, there’s plenty at stake for Netherlands, too, even if they are out of the running for the semi-finals here. A win will ensure direct qualification for the 2024 T20 World Cup in the West Indies and the USA, as it will give them a top-four spot finish in their group.

While South Africa will be in the semi-finals if they win. the other qualifier from this group will only be decided following the final game of Sunday’s triple-header: India vs Zimbabwe.

South Africa: Temba Bavuma (capt), Quinton de Kock (wk), Rilee Rossouw, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Lungi Ngidi
Netherlands: Max O’Dowd, Stephan Myburgh, Tom Cooper, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Scott Edwards (capt, wk), Roelof van der Merwe, Logan van Beek, Fred Klaasen, Paul van Meekeren, Brandon Glover

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.