March 24, 2023

Toss Pakistan opt to bowl vs New Zealand

Pakistan captain Babar Azam won the toss and opted to bowl in the first ODI against New Zealand in Karachi.

Legspinner Usama Mir was handed a debut for Pakistan while New Zealand opted to unleash fast bowler Henry Shipley, handing him his maiden international cap.
Mir was rewarded with a call-up thanks to his strong show in the Pakistan Cup, where he finished as the highest wicket-taker with 28 scalps. Mohammad Nawaz’s left-arm spin will complete the spin attack for Pakistan, who also have Agha Salman’s offspin to look at.
Shan Masood, who was appointed vice-captain, couldn’t find a spot in the XI as Haris Sohail, Salman and Mohammad Rizwan occupied the middle order positions. Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah and Haris Rauf completed Pakistan’s pace attack, despite the inclusion of Naseem and Rauf questioned their workload management.

Shipley, on the other hand, was expected to fill in the position left vacant by the tall Kyle Jamieson, who is sidelined due to injury. New Zealand also opted to play two spinners in Michael Bracewell and Mitchell Santner and they have the option of part-timers Glenn Phillips and captain Kane Williamson to fall back on.

Pakistan have won eight of their last nine ODIs and are sixth on the World Cup Super League points table, while New Zealand sit pretty at the second spot.

Pakistan: 1 Fakhar Zaman, 2 Imam-ul-Haq, 3 Babar Azam (capt), Mohammad Rizwan (wk), 5 Haris Sohail, 6 Agha Salman, 7 Mohammad Nawaz, 8 Usama Mir, 9 Mohammad Wasim, 10 Naseem Shah, 11 Haris Rauf

New Zealand: 1 Devon Conway, 2 Finn Allen, 3 Kane Williamson (capt), 4 Daryl Mitchell, 5 Tom Latham (wk), 6 Glenn Phillips, 8 Michael Bracewell, 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Henry Shipley, 10 Tim Southee, 11 Lockie Ferguson

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.